Really?

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Lifestyle/Culture, Other
Tags: , , , , ,

Just to follow on quickly from the events of Friday where I met this rather charming woman at one of my mum’s gigs.  Not sure how that’s going, actually, I still have no idea what I’m doing… Anyway, I’m not here to talk about her, but I am here to talk about something she said to me during our chat on Friday.

So, there we were sitting at the bar, doing the whole verbal touchy-feely thing where we make conversation whilst simultaneously trying to pump as much information out of each other as possible through anecdotes and stories, and the conversation turned to birthdays. I was explaining how mine was on January 6th, and so there was always a Mass that day at school, and she mentioned how hers fell on May 4th. There was a slight pause, and then Katie, we’ll just call her Katie for now… no wait, that’s her real name… anyway – Katie (sp?) said this:

Katie: I’m just waiting for the joke to come.

Me: Joke?

Katie: The Star Wars joke… or was it Star Trek? No no, definitely Star Wars.

Me: What Star Wars Joke?

Katie: May 4th? “May the Fourth be with you”?

Me: … Really?

Katie: Yeah, I get that all the time.

Me: Really?

Katie: … yeah?

Me: Oh god, that’s a terrible joke. Who would say that? I mean, I love Star Wars, I grew up on Star Wars but that’s just… on behalf of males everywhere, I apologise. Really, that’s just… wow.

I think I scored some brownie points there with that little faux-outrage routine, but the truth is that it WAS a terrible joke. I mean spend enough time around that boso there, especially when he’s in a #puntastic mood, and you get to see some real doozies. But even they are still a little bit classy in their completely naff way, and I’d like to think Marco would never say something like that. At least, not whilst he’s trying to flirt with a woman anyway.

So, the moral of this rather short post is simple: Stop it. Really, just… no. Hang your head in shame and walk away.

Or, if you happen to be athletic and  at least marginally good looking, keep doing it so that you annoy girls so much they won’t want to talk to you – less competition for me and I could really use the handicap.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    Yay, #puntastic got a mention. Tho that 4th may one is pathetic.

  2. On behalf of females everywhere, I’m sorry.

  3. Holly says:

    “less competition for me and I could really use the handicap”

    lol

Leave a Reply

