Interesting

Posted: March 11, 2011 in Gaming, Work Related
Tags: , , , , ,

Now this is interesting. I touched briefly on Dragon Age II the other day, although I didn’t dwell on it too much because I was tired and I once again left it on the go for so long that I just got bored. Anyway, been reading a couple of news stories that have been floating about though, along with a fairly interesting interview over at Eurogamer, and it seems I may have been on to something after all.

First off, our news guy ran this story about how the Dragon Age II composer was saying how the score for that game was a bit of a rush job, specifically citing how EA was pushing hard for the game to be released around about now to capitalise on the success of Origins. I said in my review that the ending felt a little cut-off – one of those obvious cliff hangers that sets everything up a little too well for a sequel, and I had to wonder whether they were pressed for time or something. Maybe I was right.

Looking at all of the review scores that have been trickling out over the past week, it’s clear something went wrong. I mean to be fair the lowest score is around 6 or so, which is in a real 1-10 scale is slightly better than average and still an ok score, but in the PR world likes like the apocalypse or something. Head on over to this news piece, which is actually taken from this interview, and you can see that even Bioware are slightly disappointed in how things turned out, but hopefully they’ve taken everything on board. Maybe they should leave it a bit longer to develop the next one, eh?

In other news, that legal battle between Sony and LG also had some news today. Not sure how much you all know about this by Sony started some Legal War against LG a while back, but LG recently got the upper hand and actually got PS3′s banned from sale in Europe. Well, technically they were banned from sale and distribution from Holland. Sony could import PS3′s directly into any other EU country if they wanted, but I guess they used Holland as a main ‘supply drop’ for the continent so it might as well be a proper ban. That’s just recently been overturned though.

It’s been a long week, as I mentioned last time, but it’s over now. I’ve got Homefront and RIFT to do for review still, some preview coverage to do… but I think I’ll take it easy this weekend, relax. Hope you all enjoy your weekend as well.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    I need to finish DA: Origins first. I do doubt that I’ll like the second though, it just made me miss BG the first.

    • baseallstar says:

      I really want to fall in love again with the RPG genre, DA:Origins almost did the trick but not quite. I was hoping DA2 would be the one but seems like it’s getting a very lukewarm reception and my search will continue.

  2. It’s a hard one to say really. The story and the narrative style in DA2 is much better than in Origins. As good as it was, DAO was a little bit too generic for its own good. Apart from that though… not much else is really that amazing.

    There’s nothing wrong with the new art style, but I’m not a fan. The new combat system works well on the console, but not so much on the PC…odd other little things could be better as well. It was an enjoyable game though, just as good as the first one.

    • Emily says:

      I’ve only played a bit of the game so far (DA II) and I haven’t been as struck with it as I was Origins. I’m going to stick with it, but as you can tell by me posting on here, I’m not playing on it tonight. Instead I’m working on my graphic novel (in between catching up with blogs).

Leave a Reply

