It’s funny how that games list keeps growing and yet I’ve still got to actually play any of these games. I’ve not even touched Bioshock since I bought it, even though I keep meaning to. I bought and installed Diablo II: Lord of Destruction as well so that I could play online with Sassy McSassypants over there, and perhaps be inspired to actually complete the game after ten years of owning it.

Diablo II was a bit of an strange one, as far as the ‘gaps’ in my experiences go. I loved the first Diablo, played it, completed it, got the T-shirt and even bought one or two of the novels. But when I first got Diablo II when it came out… I didn’t actually have a computer that could run it. Which sucked. I had to rely on the odd visit to certain relatives who did have  a decent computer so that I could play it, and said relatives would then get annoyed that I’d spent all my time playing computer games and not talking to them. I mean, really…

As if that wasn’t enough, when I finally convinced mother-dear that getting a fairly decent rig was actually quite a good idea, it still wouldn’t work! Even though the computer was technically capable of running the game. Long story short, I never completed Diablo II. I didn’t even get Lord of Destruction when it first came out because I still hadn’t gotten the original to work properly by that point.

I also have Cities XL 2011 to review at some point. I should probably get on that. Cities XL was an odd game… I reviewed the 2010 edition as well, and it was a perfectly adequate city-simulator. It lacked any form of charm or personality, but in terms of functionality and even graphics is was a pretty decent title. It even had an online mode, which was kind of a neat concept but a bit limited, really – it went the way of APB and Tabula Rasa in the end and shut down about five months after launch, although the single-player component remained. Will be interesting to see how the 2011 fairs.

So many games, so little time. The Men of War: Assault Squad online beta has just started as well. I can’t accurately describe how supremely effing awesome that game is. Think Company of Heroes, just without base-building, not made by Relic, and chock-a-block of WIN. The voice acting was terrible, but it’s one of the few WW2 RTS games that I’ve felt has really captured some of the atmosphere of the conflict. For a relatively small PC developer hailing out of Germany (although the engine is developed by an old school Ukrainian company called Best Way), it’s pretty darn good. The multiplayer is what really sells it though, and since Assault Squad is a MP-focused expansion… well, if my excitement isn’t oozing out of your screens by now, it will soon.

But it’s been a bit of a busy week here at Strategy Informer HQ… not that we have a HQ, being a truly ‘Cloud’ organisation that lacks an office… but yeah. Busy. Between going to the EA Winter Showcase, Managing out content, and opening a savings account… not had a lot of time for gaming this week. And they just keep piling up… I need to go invent a time machine or something.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    Really enjoyed reading this Joe, keep it up!

  2. Holly says:

    Better get on Bioshock, dude. It’s kind of sad how many more hours I spend on Steam each week than you do :)

Leave a Reply

