Sensitivity

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Gaming, Other, Technology, Work Related
Tags: , , , , , ,

I think I hurt my monitor’s feelings. It must have over-heard me talking with a colleague about upgrade options, and now it’s rebelling by not working properly whenever I turn it on after it’s been off for a while. It works fine eventually, but there’s always a period of about five minutes where I can’t help but think “Oh God, is it ever going to work properly?”.

Ever since I built my PC from scratch (a feat which I’m still rather proud off), I’d always had a number of eventual goals in mind: Upgrade to Windows 7, Get some more RAM and go 64 Bit, and get a second monitor to name but a few. Now that I’ve got more disposable income at my… disposal, I think it’s time to fulfil that last goal. This is purely a work/business purchase, as regular consumers don’t really need two monitors. But for me, a second one would help with multi-tasking. I could have a game running full screen on one monitor, and still keep up with emails, RSS feeds and do work in general with the other.

I was talking with a friend of mine, Mr. Clay from XG247, and he advised me that it’s always best to get a second monitor that has the same resolution as my first one. So in this case 1440×900. Upon hearing that though, he laughed his ass off and told me to upgrade whilst I was at it, because apparently that resolution is ‘old’. I was a bit perturbed I have to say, but I assumed he knew his stuff so I was considering upgrading as well, although that would mean that I’d need to buy two new monitors instead of one. I may have some pocket money, but I’m not loaded by any means. If anyone has any advice, I’d love to hear it.

But yeah, my monitor must have over-heard me, because now it seems to be pouting. I have to admit, of all the things I expected to conk-out first (and, now that I think about it, I’ve already had to send my main harddrive off once already for repair), I never expected the monitor to go on the fritz first. Oh well.

By the way: Spotted. (That’s not me this time though, one of our other writers wrote that article. Still chuffed though!)

Comments
  1. - says:

    Funny thing, sensitivity.

  2. […] as funds for moving. Again, I would leave the monitors until I had moved out, but as I told you a while ago, my current one has developed a bit of an odd fault, and I have to wrestle with it every single […]

Leave a Reply

