Bollocks

Posted: November 14, 2010 in Gaming, Other, Writing/Journalism
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m not normally one to worry so much about endings and spoilers – usually I don’t care enough or I’m not in a position where I’m emotionally invested in the things being talked about. The subjects that I am emotionally invested in are either happening in ‘real-time’ as it were, so it’s not possible for it to get spoilt, or I simply avoid talking to anyone about it until I’m caught up. The odd occasion where I have heard something, and then gone on to watch/experience whatever it was, I usually forget or it doesn’t ruin the experience for me. There’s only been two exceptions to this that I can recall.

The first, was when one of my best friends told me Dumbledore dies at the end of the The Half Blood Prince. The second, happened just a couple of minutes ago. I was just having a twitter conversation with two colleagues of mine, Marco Fiori and Ashton Raze, about a PC RPG series called Divine Divinity. The second game in the series, Divinity II: Ego Draconis, is getting a re-release of sorts in the form of The Dragon Knight Saga. It basically comprises the original main game, although updated and tweaked with extra content, along with the Flames of Vengeance DLC Expansion pack that was released a while ago. In trying to get to the bottom of what really differentiated Dragon Knight Saga from the original Ego Draconis (I never finished it after doing my review, but I was many an hour in and so I wouldn’t want to re-start, if I can help it), I accidently spoiled the ending of Ego Draconis. Fuck.

I really liked Divinity II, for all its flaws. The original game was released in 2002,  although I’ve never played it. Marco can tell you a bit about it though, and despite it looking slightly out-dated for a 2002 game in terms of technology (it looks a bit like Diablo, looking at the screens) it seemed never-the-less to be a well made, very in-depth RPG. The sequel was released last year shortly after Dragon Age: Origins, which is a shame since it was probably over looked by many because of this. Looking back at my review, I may have perhaps judged it too harshly, but there were many niggles with it that made it a bit of a slog at times. Judging by what I’ve learned about the end, that slog could be all for naught as well. This is a huge time-sink of a game though, and quite in-depth. According to the creators there’s a 180 quests through-out the entire gaming (DLC included) and over 100 hours worth of content, so you can at least say you’re getting value for money.

If I’m lucky, I’ll have forgotten what I learned by the time I go back to Ego Draconis. I’ll have to think about whether or not I’ll pick up the Dragon Knight Saga… we’ve got a review copy, which I could always try sinking my teeth into, but going by the amount of time I had to sink into the first game, I’m not sure if I want to tackle such a beast. We’ll have to see.

Until next time…

P.S. Spotted, by the way. Look a the press quotes down the left hand side. That one is one of mine.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    Awesome! Loads of mention today! Great work on the quote btw!

Leave a Reply

