Oh, Hello…

Posted: November 25, 2010 in Gaming, Music/Soundracks, Work Related, Writing/Journalism
Tags: , , , ,

I’m not going to lie, one of the highlights of this job is the random stuff you get through your letter box. Ethically speaking, the receipt and acceptance of gifts is kind of frowned upon because it constitutes a conflict of interest and lays possible grounds for bias. This is true, there’s no escaping it, but where I tend to argue differently is that there’s no guaranteed cause-effect here. It’s not like when you switch of the electricity, or pour salt onto a slug – if you choose not to let gifts affect your judgement, it won’t.

Anyway, usually it’s my Editor who gets all the weird and wonderful PR stuff anyway. As a truly internet based company, we have no central office, so his house is used as the main mailing address unless something needs to be sent to me specifically (although even then, the odd piece of mail addressed to me has been sent to his house, and he still opened it the bastard). It seems though that I’ve been getting my name and address about enough though that I’m starting to get my own stream of random, which is nice. There’s been instances in the past before mind, but they were very specific and one-off – for example, one pr woman who I have a laugh with often saw me mention my love of Oreos over twitter. A few days later, I received a small tub in the post. I was secretly very chuffed, I’ll admit.

Today though, I received another odd parcel in the form of this small cardboard tube. Intrigued, I opened it to find a leaflet and two bags with some kind of chip or crisp in, kind of like a fortune cookie just already broken up. There was even paper inside that had the location of the press assets on it. Not the most exciting thing in the world, but hey, I appreciated it.

Also in the mail was the copy of The Sims 3: World Adventures that I ordered, and the Doctor Who Series 5 Soundtrack. Which is awesome, by the way, Murray Gold has really out done himself this time… even if you didn’t particularly like this series, you should definitely check it out, some very good stuff here. Overall, I liked Matt Smith’s portrayal of The Doctor. Considering he had to follow on from David Tennant, he did far better than I thought he would. The series itself wasn’t that great, as the middle episodes were kind of boring, but hopefully that’ll get better in the next series. Anyway, tangent over. Back to Work.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Marco says:

    YOU HAVE NO ETHICS.

  2. Holly says:

    Yay, Sims 3.

    Now all you need to do is trumpet your love for Mountain Dew so some PR lady will send you some of that.

  3. Emily says:

    Yeah, so long as the freebies don’t cloud your judgement…

    Or if you believe anything you got off a PR may cloud your judgement, just pass it on to me. I’ll take care of it for you ;)

Leave a Reply

