My (Toy) Story

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Lifestyle/Culture, Non-Gaming, Other
Tags: , , , ,

* SPOILER ALERT* In this post I’m going to talk, in detail, about Toy Story 3. If you haven’t seen it yet, I’d recommend you stop reading… and then immediately go buy it. It’s well good.

So, I recently watched Toy Story 3 for the first time. I kind of wish I’d gotten around to seeing it in the cinema, but no matter. I enjoyed it – it’s better than the second one for me, although some elements you can tell have been re-hashed. Mr. Lotso for instance was simply Stinky Pete/Prospector, SunnySide was just an expanded fat-guy apartment, etc…

Still, it was very funny, had a good story to it, and the ending… well, someone asked if I cried. There may or may not have been the slightest collection of moisture under my eyes, but obviously I can’t comment on rumour or speculation.

Someone I talked too though thought it went on too long actually, but I don’t know. I could see where they were coming from, but I enjoyed that scene. I think what probably happened is that Pixar erred on the side of caution and tried to do it ‘right’ as opposed to ‘right and quick’. It was a good scene, and a good end to the film and now that I think about it, that whole set piece has a much deeper connection for people my age (at least I think so anyway).

The original Toy Story came out in 1995, so I would have been seven or so at the time. The film’s theme of toys and that special connection you have with them, as well as the dangers of consumerism I suppose (Woody nearly getting replaced by the newer Buzz Lightyear) would have rang true to my younger self, even if not at the same intellectual level as I’m presenting now. The second film, whilst not as iconic, still had the same resonance I guess, considering it came out in 1999 where I would have been 11 or so.

Take all that in context with the third film’s themes of growing up, moving on, nostalgia (granted, they were more subtle as the majority of the film revolved around the toys escaping Sunnyside and sticking together come what may) … at 22, I can really empathise with the now 17-year old Andy. It probably doesn’t match up as well as if I’d also been going to Uni or something, so perhaps one of the younger generations will appreciate this more, but there really couldn’t have been a more apt and poignant ending to an iconic series. At least, I hope they don’t make a fourth one anyway – would definitely spoil things in my opinion.

Coming back to where the first film ‘fits’ in my personal hierarchy of which one was best… as I said, definitely better than the second one for me, and whilst it’s close to the first, the original Toy Story will always remain the funniest and most iconic for me. It’s a bit of a classic in its own right, not to mention quite an impressive feat of CGI considering when it was released. There’s a very specific reason why the first one is special to me however, and it can be summed up by watching this clip:

Incidentally, this also proves that you really can find anything on YouTube. Anyway… the scene where Woody and the other toys ‘reveal’ themselves to Cid (the nasty kid next door) for me is just such a classic moment, and something they haven’t been able to repeat in either Toy Story 2 or 3, which is a shame. It’s not surprising I guess… in the second one the only real ‘bad’ guy was Stinky Pete, and in the third film, the toddlers were more a force of nature then true villains, so again it fell to another fellow toy, Mr. Lotso, to be the bad guy. Maybe they could have worked something in where they reveal themselves to Andy or something, but I think it would have needed a ‘different’ film for that.

So yeah… just thought that this deserved a mention. I’ll try to keep the non-gaming stuff to a minimum but ultimately, I’ll blog about whatever inspires me to blog. Do you guys have any special connection with Toy Story? Is it just another kids film to you? Feel free to share your thoughts.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    As you mentioned, it holds a special connection for our generation. Pixar are the masters of a story, I’m so glad they pulled it off in TS3.

  2. Holly says:

    Not like the two can’t be tied in. I loved the Toy Story game for Sega Genesis when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

