Miserable Git

Posted: December 6, 2010 in Gaming, Humorous
Tags: , , ,

I don’t like writing from an annoyed standpoint, as there’s always a danger of things turning into a rant… but damn it, my Sim’s a miserable git. True to form, I didn’t actually go back on The Sims 3 for a bit once World Adventures came in through the post – something which is made even worse/funny by the fact that I’ve also now just ordered the Late Night expansion, since I didn’t think anyone would get it for me for Xmas.

This weekend though, I decided to give things another go and since my original sim, Joe Green (in homage to Holly Green, who inspired me to buy The Sims 3 in the first place), was only a test and had way too much money anyway, I decided to create a new one – Joe Robinson (by this point I’d given up pretending that my Sims was anything other than a idealised and computerised version of myself). Things start of fine, but for some reason everything goes downhill and every day becomes a constant struggle to keep the bastard happy.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a challenge, but either the mood metre has been changed in one of the latest updates, or there’s just something I’ve forgotten. No matter how hard I try, he always seems to descend in some kind of fail-spiral where he’s too depressed to actually do anything, and positive moodlets don’t do as much as they do at the beginning. Things like cleaning up, fixing things etc… I have to call someone in to take care of, which costs money. Thing is, he’s too depressed to work so I can’t earn any money either.

I must have restarted with this sim a handful times already. This latest playthrough I’ve abandoned doing the ‘self-employed’*’route from the beginning, and sent him to get a normal job so that at least, if he does get depressed, I have the money for quick fixes. I can always quit further down the line. It’s still ‘skin of my teeth’ scenario though, and he seems to have just descended into the lower levels of the mood metre, or ‘hell’ as we shall now call it, purely so I can make a Dante’s Inferno reference. Before I came to write this, I decided to simply sell all of the dirty stuff and buy new equipment, since I was planning to do that anyway. Not sure how much more I can keep it up though.

Anyway, that’s been my weekend. The snow problems have meant I’ve pretty much been stranded in the house, since I haven’t been allowed to use the car due to the roads, the trains and buses haven’t been running, and I live in the middle of nowhere. Fun times.

Until next time.

* – There is no official self-employment mechanic in The Sims 3, something I think they could possibly work in for later games. There’s certain skills that allow you to do stuff, like painting, or writing a book etc… that can earn you money aside from getting a job. This technical self-employment is what I’ve been attempting lately, however the mood problems I have prevent me from seeing it through as I’m having to spend so much time keeping the f****r happy.

Addendum: Seems I grumbled too soon. Got the Ambitions expansion pack for Christmas, which enhances the ‘job’ portion of the game, and it does include a ‘Seld-employed’ mode. I guess I take it all back.

Comments
  1. Holly says:

    I *love* that you used a photo from that Sims blog.

  2. […] made an addendum to this post. Seems I grumbled too soon – as of the Ambitions expansion pack for The Sims 3, there is […]

Leave a Reply

