Temptation

Posted: December 16, 2010 in Gaming, Lifestyle/Culture, Other
Tags: , , , ,

So… I’m feeling really tempted to jump back into World of Warcraft. I know, I know – it’s almost ‘un-cool’ now to be a WoW player. As the biggest MMO around, it often gets a lot of media attention in regards to online gaming and how it destroys people’s lives, not to mention the fact that as a ‘game’ it’s pretty dated in many areas.

The launch of Cataclysm however really seems to have brought it new life, not only in terms of Endgame content, but judging by initial reports the ‘old world’ as it’s called has also been revamped and been made more engaging as a whole. I actually used to be a WoW player, although I can never remember for how long. I stopped playing even before the first expansion came out, but to be fair it was kind of enjoyable at the time. I’ve been a fan of the Warcraft universe since probably Warcraft II, which as I’ve mentioned before is probably the first game that I remember getting and playing.

I really want to get into an MMO again though… I was going to try Guild Wars, as I really liked what I saw of Guild Wars 2, but the very fact that the sequel is incoming has made me think there’s really no point now. The Old Republic is looking ok, but regardless it’s not here yet, and none of the currently available MMO’s have really taken my fancy. I tried getting into EVE for a while, but that’s incredibly complex and not really that fun without friends.

Which brings us back to WoW. Back in the day, World of Warcraft was taking up too much time to keep up with my guild-mates, and I just got bored eventually, which is why I quit. My main character, a 30-something or Warrior, had hit a slow spot in the questing and I wasn’t really enjoying myself. I then went and tried some of the other races and class types, but I rarely took them past level 10.

Even with my Cataclysm special edition though, I’d still have to go buy Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King… but that’s not the main thing that’s putting me off. When I first got World of Warcraft… not straight away, but it couldn’t have been that long after it came out – anyway, when I first got it, it took me most of the evening just to install and then patch to the full. That was, what, five years ago? I shudder at what I’ll have to do now. Seriously, I’ll probably still be patching by the time the next expansion comes out…

I’ll have a think. I’ve got so many games I need to actually play that adding an MMO into the mix probably isn’t the best of ideas, but as was Blizzard’s intention, Cataclysm has really rekindled my interest in the game and the franchise.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Holly says:

    Ugh, I just cannot stand MMOs. Probably because I can’t stand human beings.

    • Heh, you do need the right people to game with. I’ve had nothing against MMO’s in principle, it’s just there hasn’t been one that has appealed to me or one that can suite a casually minded player like myself.

      But WoW is calling again… maybe if I find the right Guild…

  2. […] remember how, a couple of week ago, I said I was tempted to jump back into World of Warcraft because I was intrigued to see how the game had evolved and […]

  3. […] in December 2010 I believe I mentioned how I was tempted to jump back into World of Warcraft after the release of the Cataclysm expansion. […]

Leave a Reply

