I hope everyone had a good Christmas? It’s odd how quickly it seems to pass now these days, given all the build up and preparation that goes into it. It’s not as exciting for me as it used to be when I was a kid, naturally, but still – It’s boxing day already, and we’re marching on towards the New Year and 2011. I’ve probably said this before, but I’ll say it again – I dislike the passage of time.

Where there’s Christmas of course, there are traditions. We have two fairly prominent ones in my family: The first is the concept of the ‘Christmas Eve Present’, where we get to open one small thing on Christmas Eve. This started when my mum was little, as they used to all attend Midnight Mass. When they got home in the early hours of the morning, it was of course Christmas Day technically, so they got to open  one present before they went to bed.

When my mum had me and brother, naturally the tradition was carried on, but my mum stopped going to Church, including Midnight Mass, so instead we had our Christmas Eve present after dinner.

The other tradition is more quirky, and it’s simply a game my Dad plays. Despite a lot of Nativity Scenes depicting the Three Wise Men, those guys didn’t actually arrive in Bethlehem until January 6th (which is also my birthday. Feast of the Epiphany, look it up). Therefore, if you’re doing it properly, your nativity set-up if you have one would be absent of those three until January. I imagine most people just have them off to one side, to show that they are ‘in transit’, but my Dad likes to hide them around the house, and the game is to try and find them. When you find them, they get re-hidden and the game starts again and on it goes until the Epiphany when they’re placed in the Nativity.

Of course many people have Gaming traditions as well. Holly, I know, likes to buy a bag of crème Cadbury Mini Easter Eggs and play Majora’s Mask… hmm, I actually don’t know anyone else with gaming traditions. If you have any stories, feel free to share. Me and my friends always go around one of our houses on Christmas Day in the evening to hang out, and we always end up playing games. Usually Worms, and they usually gang up against me. That’s kind of a tradition, but it’s more in us going to visit than in us playing games.

I have to say though, I don’t have any prominent ‘personal’ gaming traditions. I kind of would like to have some, but it’s not just one of those things that you can up and decide to do – Traditions evolve out of repetition of significant actions. I brush my teeth every night, but it’s not a tradition, it’s just a daily chore. I could decide that every year, on Christmas Day, I would play… The Sims, Rome: Total War, etc… but it wouldn’t mean anything.

In other news

I made an addendum to this post. Seems I grumbled too soon – as of the Ambitions expansion pack for The Sims 3, there is an official self-employment mechanic for skills/professions that naturally support it. Serves me right for not checking, I suppose, and for getting the packs out of order. I got Ambitions for Christmas and so have only just installed it, I have yet to test it out though.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Holly says:

    Ew. Take that back. I do NOT buy creme eggs. They are Cadbury mini easter eggs and they are solid chocolate with a candy coating.

    EW EW EW.

Leave a Reply

