The Wheel Turns

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Lifestyle/Culture, Non-Gaming, Other
Tags: , , , , ,

So, I turned 23 today. I don’t remember agreeing to that, but oh well. The wheel has turned once again, I’m one step closer to the grave, etc…  I’ve long since adopted a bit of a ‘meh’ attitude about my birthday… Maybe it’s because it’s close to Christmas, or maybe it’s because I never really do anything special, but it’s pretty much another day now. Albeit a cake/presents/special treatment filled day.

Not being the popular kid in school I never really hosted a party, except when I was young, and so for many years I’d just celebrate it with family. Nothing wrong with that I suppose, but the novelty of turning a year older wore off mighty quick. When I got older and learned to drive though, me and my best mates started a tradition of going to see a movie, then getting a Papa John’s Pizza and eating it in a random car park somewhere in town. Because cool kids eat pizza in freezing cold weather.

A bit of trivia for you: My birthday is also the Christian Feast of the Epiphany, which celebrates the arrival of the three wise men and the 12h day of Christmas, I believe. Forgetting for a moment that the whole December 25th date is completely arbitrary, the Three Wise Men weren’t actually there right at the beginning – they arrived on the equally as arbitrary January 6th date, sometime after Jesus’ actual birth. Not that you really need to know this, but hey, I had to endure a Mass every at school on my Birthday, you can endure a few seconds of lore.

I guess this means I should probably grow up a bit, or something. I’ll add it to the ‘to do’ list.

Another odd fact – I’m actually one of the youngest people I know within my niche. A load of the other games journalists, PR’s, Editor’s etc… are at best a couple of years older than me, at worst pushing or are well over 30. Not sure why I find this odd, I guess I’m too used to be surrounded by people who are the same age as me. Saying that, I actually know… three people, I think (so far) that are younger than me? Although these particular chaps are having much more success than I am in this industry, which says something about me I suppose. I should get on that.

Anyway, no need to do anything special for me, even though I know you really want to. Just email me pictures of things you would get me if you could/wanted to/cared.

Until next year.

Comments
  1. Lee Bradley says:

    ‘Appy Birthday Joe, from one of the elderly over-30’s. :)

  2. Emily says:

    Also, traditionally on this day, people who have celebrated Christmas try to ensure that whatever Christmas decorations they have up are all taken down by the end of the day (no later) as many fear they would otherwise become victims of bad luck for leaving the decorations up any longer.

    I get what you mean about not celebrating your Birthday much, due to its proximity to Christmas. My cousin who’s six months younger than me has had a similar attitude since he turned 12. I don’t think it ever helped that my family tended to “double up” on his Christmas presents, and there were rarely two presents -_-

  3. Holly says:

    At least two of the Tanooki staff members are younger than you. Ya know, just to burst your bubble a little ;)

  4. […] be surprised how much shit comes with the best job ever. Shit, and pressure. Yesterday was my birthday, and I’m now 23 – thankfully still sort of at the cusp of my career, but as I mentioned […]

Leave a Reply

