Double-yew Tee Eff, mate

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Gaming, Lifestyle/Culture
Tags: , , , , ,

I… What… The Wii? I mean… how… WHY!?

In all seriousness though, whilst this is not that… surprising an idea for a party videogame, I think the thing I’m most surprised about is that it’s a Wii party game. The Wii being the console that brought families and the typical non-gamer stereotypes into gaming and helped created that whole ‘casual gaming’ thing. Are Nintendo trying to widen their market? Change their image? I know this is being made by Ubisoft, but their portfolio is diverse enough to allow for an out-of-the-box game like this, but the big-wigs at Ninty would have had to have approved ‘We Dare’ (Interesting that it’s not Wii Dare), which is why I wonder what’s going on here.

I was a teenager once, I think, and I remember going through that phase where every party game had to have that touchy-feely twist to it if girls were involved. I imagine this is that in a videogame form. It will be interesting to see what their target market really is. I mean you’ve got ‘trendy’ (white) young adults in the trailer, someone on Twitter alleged that this game has been approved for ages 12 and up… I don’t see this being anything but a little weird until things are clearer.

I see this being oddly fascinating, in the way that things that try to push social boundaries and taboos tend to be, but yeah… I… Wow. I did not see this coming.

Until next time.

P.S. I’m told that this game is also coming to the PS Move, which makes a hell of a lot more sense. It also explains the lack of ‘Wii’ in the game’s title.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joe Robinson, Joe Robinson. Joe Robinson said: New Blog! Double-yew Tee Eff, mate: http://wp.me/p1atXF-a5 […]

  2. Emily says:

    Well, err yeah…

    And people complained about the sex in Mass Effect.

    Actually I could see moral outrage stopping it from seeing the light of day. Of course there will always be Spin the Bottle, Twister or Truth or Dare.

Leave a Reply

