A Cool Kind of Epilepsy

Posted: March 3, 2011 in Lifestyle/Culture, Non-Gaming, Other
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t know what to make of Glee. Yes, that’s right, I’ve started watching it – let’s get it all out right now. Some of you reading this will be welcoming me to the fold, others will be adding me to your social blacklist. The vast majority of you probably won’t care, but anyway, I started watching Glee on a whim because I saw an episode on TV and everyone keeps going on about it.

If there’s one thing I will always have a lot of time for, it’s choreographed musical set pieces. I can’t sing, I can’t really dance although I was in a Christmas Play once that had some choreography in it, and I think I did ok. Point is though, I like musicals. Always have, always will… Jesus Christ, Superstar, do you think you’re what they say you are, etc… And yet, I don’t know what to make of Glee. It was the musical number, Britney’s ‘Toxic‘ I think, in the random episode I saw that interested me in the first place. Good production values, the cast is clearly all talented… but as a TV show, I think it kind of annoys me.

Don’t get me wrong, it has some good moments in it. Jane Lynch is amazing as Sue Sylvester, with her quirky dry humour. The only times you don’t like her is when she’s being downright evil, but even then she can be funny. Jayma Mays as Clean-OCD obsessed Emma Pilsbury also brings another good dollop of situational humour to the table, but the rest of them… I don’t know. The fact that, along with the standard musical numbers in rehearsals or whatever, the cast also break out into the odd musical-style song narrative thing… the show just doesn’t seem real, in the sense that I can’t connect with it. Some of the character stereotypes also are a bit in your face.

I don’t know… I’m only just over half-way through Season One, and a lot has happened. Again, the musical numbers are great, even the songs I don’t really care for, but the narrative isn’t really doing it for me. Who knows, maybe it will pick up, but I’m glad I found out what all the fuss was either way.

Also, I want the so-called ‘other Asian’ dude to actually be given a character, as nearly everyone else has, including the ‘dumb’ Dutch blonde cheerleader, who’s obviously ignorant one liner’s include the title of this post.

Until next time.

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    I started watching the first season when E4 began airing it and had to give up after five or six episodes. To me, what started out as a kind of anti-High School Musical became a little too much like High School Musical. This seemed to happen as the series shifted from paying for script writers to lumping in more musical numbers instead.

    Also, as you said, the stereotypes are rather grating a great deal of the time.

Leave a Reply

