Adam and EVE

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Gaming, Work Related
Tags: , , , ,

I’ll tell you what, EVE Online has to be one of the best sounding games EVER. It’s already one of the best-looking games, but as this year’s ‘Fanfest’ (the developer’s annual event for all things CCP) has shown, it’s probably got some of the greatest potential in a videogame franchise I’ve ever seen.

Rock, Paper, Shotgun, who were lucky enough to go over to the event, have got the highlights for you up on their website, so I won’t repeat everything here, but they’ve got some pretty interesting things planned.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, EVE Online is a space-based MMO where you pilot ships, form alliances, trade, wage war, and do all the standard MMO things in one massive persistent world. There’s no shards, or different servers, there’s just one server, one world, one game.

That game has been around since 2003, so around the same time as World of Warcraft started, and they’ve been updating it twice a year for eight years. I don’t really know what it was like back then, but I gather it’s radically different now, and better in many respects. At the moment, CCP are planning on releasing another game, this time an (MMO?)FPS called DUST 314 that’ set in the same universe, and the same ‘place’ as EVE Online, just on the planets. Until recently, there’s little in the way of planetary interaction EVE. What they have planned is for the two games to interact fully with each other, so that something you do in EVE affects what happens in DUST, and visa versa. This video (Also on RPS) highlights it best.

As I said, SOUNDS great, right? The only problem with EVE is that, whilst it looks and sounds pretty interesting, it’s about as accessible a flight of stairs to a Dalek (before they could fly). EVE has been given the nickname “Spreadsheets in Space” before, and it’s notorious for being very hardcore, and very complex. Don’t even get me started on the learning curve… remember the first mission of Call of Duty 2? Where you climb up the cliff? That’s what it’s like to learn EVE.

It’s been getting a lot better though recently, so I might just have to jump back in, give it another try. The key thing is to find a decent group who can help you out, but the great thing about EVE is that nearly everything is player driven, so there’s even an ‘EVE University’ to help out new players.

Anyway, click on the links if you want to know more. I’m starting to cool off a little towards RIFT at the moment. It’s still good, but the area after the main one is less… interesting, and the economy to the game needs some work. Maybe things would get better if I joined a guild or something. We’ll see.

Until next time…

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    I gave it a week’s trial once, it was just insane. Everyone in the game was helpful, but it was completely over my head.

  2. Yeah, it is VERY complex… you can get buy for a bit on your own, but you really need a decent guild of experienced players to help you get beyond that, and give you some direction.

    • Emily says:

      A friend of mine plays EVE on a regular basis. I’ve spent many an evening looking over his shoulders and watching him play. And it has always gone over my head.

      But then I hear reports about particular players pulling things off in-game, like financial schemes that are just a front and leave the investors with nothing and I think, “Wow.”

  3. […] so this arrived in the post for me. I requested one from the local PR because all of the talk coming from Fanfest got me excited and I though, well, why the hell not? Of course you know what […]

Leave a Reply

