Let’s Get Medieval

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Gaming, Other
Tags: , , ,

Looky what came in the post today! It’s a little late, but we have a guy out in the US who’s reviewing this for us anyway, so we’ll probably have a verdict up on it soon. I’ve been looking forward to playing this though, as previewing this game made me get into The Sims in the first place. Sadly, I only got to preview the game once. I guess because of our name EA didn’t think to send us preview code or anything, so we never did a hands on view.

Still, this should be good – as the World Adventures expansion pack proved, what the franchise needs is something completely fresh in order to keep going, although I think a Sims 4 would still do well, they need to start incorporating concepts beyond just living a digital life. I haven’t been playing The Sims 3 lately mind… been trying to keep up with my other games, as well as the usual releases I have to cover as part of my work.

I’ll install this and have a session over the weekend though, post up some thoughts… might even go back to The Sims 3 and continue with that. I think the main problem I had with that game was timings… I stopped playing it on the longest life-span because you could reasonably do most of your sim’s major life goals rather quickly, leaving you with nothing else to go on. Been enjoying Late Night and Ambitions, which work kind of well together I feel. Ambitions allows you to do the proper self-employed route, which then leaves you free to properly explore the nightlight options.

Saying that, the way The Sims 3 has metres for things like tiredness, it’s hard to have a proper nightlight without it impacting on you manage your daylife – but then that’s where being self-employed helps, you don’t have to be somewhere on time in the morning.

Anyway just a quick update, sorry about the lack of postings this week – been a bit hectic. More on that tomorrow.

Until next time…

Comments
  1. Marco says:

    I loved seeing if I could turn my sim into a social, self employed genius writer. I failed. Hard.

  2. Jen says:

    Will be interested to hear your thoughts on it. Big Sims fan although I’ve not been hooked since getting all the achievements on the 360 one.
    Got World Adventures to give a go at some point though, just need a spare life ;)

  3. Haven’t played the 360… it’s not really a game I feel like playing on the console, much like I’m not a fan of FPS titles on the PC :D But yes, will post up some thoughts on Sims Medieval for sure.

Leave a Reply

