Ruh Oh: The Sequel

Posted: May 18, 2011 in Gaming, Technology, Work Related
Tags: , , , ,

So, I have a bit of a decision to make. A few weeks ago I blogged about how I’d finally come across a game that my PC couldn’t handle – The Witcher 2. We’ve already given the review code off to someone else who can handle it, but from little I’ve played from it (and from playing through the first game as well), I know it’s going to be a good game. However, I’m going to need to either upgrade, or build an entire new rig in order to play it.

Now as reasons go, it’s not the best I know – we’re talking about a fair bit of money here and my income isn’t the most stable. But then again I did build this computer just so I could play Empire: Total War, among other things. It’s sort of a greed vs. need debate. Now, The Witcher 2 is probably a tad unique in the sense that it’s not as scalable as many PC releases are. The industry is all too aware that not everyone has bleeding edge technology, and most of the time their games are scaled for mass-market appeal.

Hypothetically, if I was to do this, I’d probably just go for a completely new rig. When I built this computer, it wasn’t bleeding edge technology – might not have been just off either. Intel had come out with their ix series, Nvidia had already done their series number reset… considering this computer is now over two years old, this was bound to happen sometime soon anyway.

I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens – see what other PC games come out over the course of the year, maybe wait for prices to drop, new tech to come out, etc… I’m doing GamesCom this year, but I also want to move out as well so there’s a lot big expenses planned for this year, I may not have the money for all of them.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    Doooooooo it. 6000 cores.

  2. Emily says:

    I say: do what you can afford to do.

  3. […] probably be with THQ, for reasons I won’t be able to tell you about for a while. Anyway, last week I was still musing about what to do about my hardware, light upgrade, full new computer, etc… […]

Leave a Reply

