Quick Note – Ruh Oh: Legacy

Posted: May 23, 2011 in Gaming, Industry, Technology
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Yeah ok… getting a bit carried away with the headlines now. It’s late though, so this is only a quick one. As you read this, I’ll probably be with THQ, for reasons I won’t be able to tell you about for a while. Anyway, last week I was still musing about what to do about my hardware, light upgrade, full new computer, etc… and then this happened. Forget what I said last time about shit getting real. NOW shit’s just got real.

Interestingly enough, as I’ve mentioned before I’ve been wanting to get into the ArmA series, but I’ve been waiting for ArmA II and it’s various expansions to come down in price. Like a Steam sale or something… with ArmA III on the way now though, I might wait it out. Only problem is the specs it requires – you can find them towards the bottom of the article. In summary though, so far it’s the first announced game ever to require an Intel i5, perhaps even the iX series as a whole (I don’t remember any other games ‘requiring’ those processors, although the Total War guys have kind of been sponsored by them for a while, you know ‘runs great on’ kind of stuff). Now, as PC Gamer points out, these specs are coming out a year in advance of the game, and hardware optimisation hasn’t even been considered yet, so maybe those specs will come down.

Is this the shape of things to come though? Who knows. Need more PC games to come out so we can see… good thing E3 is just around the corner, I guess, although I don’t think that particular show has ever been known to have any major PC-only announcements before. There’s a reason people keep predicting the death of PC gaming, you know. Much like how they keep predicting the end of the world I guess… how did Rapture go, anyway? I slept through it.

Still this recent news give me a time-frame to work with. Like with this rig – I built it in time for Empire: Total War – perhaps I can time it so that my next rig is built in time for ArmA III… or another game, if one is coming sooner.

We’ll see.

Comments
  1. Marco Fiori says:

    Thank god for my i7 then no?

Leave a Reply

