E3 2011: It Begins

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Gaming, Industry, Work Related
Tags: , , , , , ,

Not that my track record has been great recently anyway, but don’t be surprised if the posts get a more scarce this week. E3 2011 is upon us, and even though I may not be there in person, me and my boss like to watch the live streams of all the big press conferences. That means late nights, plenty of tea, and frantic postage as we try to get the news up as everyone else does.

I won’t bother with hopes or predictions – to be honest the E3 hype has managed to pass me by somehow: I’m not sure what to expect, I’m not really hoping for anything in particular, it’s just a matter of waiting and seeing. I’ll definitely reflect on it though once it’s all over. Maybe do a day-by-day thing, maybe just do a round up towards the end. Strategy Informer isn’t doing a liveblog or anything this year, as we want to concentrate on watching the streams and typing up. I might find the time to fire off the odd witticism on Twitter.

E3 for me is all about the showman ship though. The press conferences where everyone is trying to be serious and professional when talking about interactive entertainment that could contain anything from virtual pets to people yelling “dicktits” every five seconds. It’s about the grandstanding, the choreographed surprise reveals, the prepared jokes… you don’t really get anything else like it during the year. I’m hoping for some more ‘Wada’ moments this year, which are always fun to witness.

Enjoy it folks, catch you on the other side.

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    I’m feeling somewhat dazed and confused by several bits of news from E3. Like Kinect for ME3, “hardcore” games for the Wii U… genuine feelings of “Wow” right now.

Leave a Reply

