Respawning in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

Posted: June 23, 2011 in Lifestyle/Culture, Non-Gaming, Other, Work Related
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, as some of you may or may not be aware, I’ve just moved house! I now live in Canterbury, which is deep in Kent to the south-east of the country. Looking at a map of England, there’s that massive hump comprised of Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex, and below them, in that area that looks like a little bum, is Kent, and I’m there. It’s a lovely little town. Manageable in the sense that you can feasibly walk to all the important bits, a nice size, it’s a student town so it has the night-life to match, and it’s got a great walk along the old castle wall.

The only real gripe I have with it is that it’s slightly further from London than I’d like – which is important for my work. There’s fast train that can get me into the capital in about an hour, although it’s not cheap, and the slow service can take up to 1 hour 30 minutes. Still, the first five days have proven to be pretty ok so far. I mainly moved here because it was cheap – cheaper than I’m likely to find anywhere, and my best mate lived here, which will help me settle in. More than that though, I feel I can finally start having a life again. I’ll always love my mum for supporting me and putting me up post-uni, but (aside from the fact that we lived in the middle no nowhere) the problem was it didn’t feel like anything had changed.

I’d been to uni, I’d had some bad times, some good times, some really good time, I’d grown up a bit, started myself on a career… and then I came back home, having to live under a set of rules that weren’t my own, having my meals cooked for me again, and my mum even let me live rent free (I did start paying rent eventually, but then I moved out, how’s that for timing?) Not that there’s anything wrong with living at home, but it does affect things, even subtly. No I’m back on my own two feet again though, and I’m looking forward to it. I’m in a shared house of five – me, my best mate and two other guys and a girl. We all pretty much keep ourselves to ourselves, so we’re more like cohabitating strangers or acquaintances rather than true housemates like what you get during uni.

Anyway, before I go on, here’s some snaps of my room and where I’ve set up my work space:

As you can see, my room isn’t the biggest thing ever – in my first ever room at uni was bigger I think, as that could have fitted a desk in. Still, all the stuff I wanted to bring fit in quite nicely, and it’s not uncomfortably small, so it could be worse. My best mate’s room is also next door, and we’ve already taken to nightly sessions of Operation Flashpoint: Red River whereby we just yell at each other via the wall or the hallway. Good times. Obviously, because there’s no room for a desk I’ve had to basically convert a part of the front room in to my office space. No really seems to use the front room much (apart from me and my mate now) as I think the other rooms are a lot bigger than mine, and so the others tend to hang out there. I was going to run a LAN cable under the carpet or something, but to be honest the wireless is serving me pretty well right now, even better than my wired connection back home.

Anyway, that’s just a little update on me. Will try and get back to some more gaming related stuff. In the mean time, if you’re looking for a good read, read this piece by Videogamer’s Martin Gaston on Sonic‘s impact in his life (in celebration of Sonic‘s 20th anniversary). As always Martin’s standard of writing is top notch, and something I’ll probably always aspire to.

Comments
  1. Holly Green says:

    Glad to see you’re getting settled :) I’m happy for you.

Leave a Reply

