A Song of Books and TV Shows

Posted: July 25, 2011 in Books, Gaming, Other
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Having watched Game of Thrones, and then read the book, this has got to be the first example that I know of where I actually prefer the televised version over the book. Being able to cover everything in ten hour-long chunks probably helps, but the TV version is such a faithful telling of the book its uncanny – almost to the point where you don’t really need to read the book.

Granted, a book being a book, there’s more detail available, but not as much as you’d think, and it only really helps in a couple of areas where the TV show didn’t make it that clear. In everything else though, I think I kind of prefer the TV show as it’s a better medium for ‘moments’ – those snippets that you always remember usually proceed with “I loved that bit when…”. Reading through those same moments in the book, they seemed stale by comparison.

It’s interesting how these series can just seemingly appear our of no-where – A Song of Fire and Ice is already on its fifth book, and has only just reached mainstream attention through the TV series, I don’t remember hearing much about it before hand. To be honest though, I’ve always been more of a Sci-fi guy, so Fantasy has never really interested me that much. Saying that, so far A Song of Fire and Ice has only light high-fantasy elements, and is for the moment firmly rooted in a more medieval setting (so, not too much magic and elves etc…).

Of course, Game of Thrones is getting its own video games as well – Game of Thrones: Genesis. It’s not a tie-in or anything, just a game set in the same universe, and it actually takes place hundreds of years before the TV show, during the earlier days of the lands of Westeros. Surprise, surprise, it’s a strategy game, so that’ll be another one for me then.

Oh, I’m on Holiday at the moment, in case you’re interested. Well, I say I’m on holiday – I’m visiting my Dad. Same thing really… I don’t really do ‘proper’ holidays. My job involves me sitting around most days, doing what needs to be done. A ‘Holiday’ for me is sitting around most days, doing whatever I feel like doing. I’ve always wanted to go on a ‘lads’ holiday with friends, but we’re so disorganized I doubt that’s ever going to happen. I grew out of family holidays a long time ago, and they just make me restless as I dislike being from my stuff for long periods of time.

Winter is coming.

Leave a Reply

