Quick Note: Disc Trouble

Posted: September 1, 2011 in Gaming, Industry, Writing/Journalism
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So, I’ve been playing through all of the Mass Effect 2 DLC – was about to start Lair of the Shadow Broker, but it told me to insert Disc 2. In all honesty, I’d forgotten it was a two-disc game, but it’s ok, all I need to do is get the second disc from the- wait, where is it? I bet it’s still in my housemates 360. My housemate who is currently in Belgium. FUUUUUUUUU- Guess I’m going to have to delay this slightly then – the plan is to do a blog post on the whole experience once I’m done.

Thing is, I’ve never really been on to buy into the whole DLC thing much. Sure, I’ve bought some maps for Halo, got the odd other add-on here and there, but nothing serious. Mass Effect 2 I think is the only game where I’ve actively purchased every bit of DLC, and that was in a made sale rush a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t bought anything as they’ve come out. From a professional perspective, we’ve never really known what to do with DLC – short articles don’t really look that great on the site from an aesthetic stand-point, so everything has to be substantial enough to fill out 800 words. I think I’d struggle to write 800 words on some of these. Also, because our site is based around a database, we have to create  a separate entry just for DLC – which to me seems a bit inefficient, especially since we can’t link separate entries together (unless it’s via platforms).

I won’t talk about the ME2 stuff too much yet – I’ll save it for the main blog post – but it’s all been a bit meh so far. I’d heard good things about Kasumi, but to be honest I wasn’t too impressed. Best so far was the Operation: Overlord DLC, which I thought was pretty good. It even had a really good emotional connection and was interesting to play through. Lair of the Shadow Broker is supposed to be good, although I haven’t heard good things about The Arrival, the only other one I have left to do.

Also, I might try and 100% complete the achievements on this game, it’s the only one where I’m anywhere near being close, and think I have the patience and skill to actually do it. Halo 3 is the other one, but I don’t think I’d be able to complete some of those achievements.

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    I also partook in the DLC sale a few weeks back, but I only needed to pick up Lair of the Shadow Broker.

    I’ve nabbed quite a bit of DLC in the past, but I don’t do it for every game that I have. I need to have enjoyed it enough already in order to consider investing.

    Shame about disc 2 being in your friend’s 360 though.

Leave a Reply

