First: Comics

Posted: September 13, 2011 in Lifestyle/Culture, Non-Gaming, Other
Tags: , , , , , ,

So, at the weekend I had another first that I’m going to share with you today (Well, it was a couple of weekends ago, but let’s not dwell on that) – I bought a comic. Now, given the loose category my interests determine I must fit in, you’d think that I’d be the kind of person who reads and buys comics, regularly especially considering I love to read whole books. For some reason though, comics have just never been my thing.

Or rather, I’ve never felt particularly inspired to go buy them. It’s probably due to the fact that the main image associated with comics is the Marvel/DC crowd, which has never really been my thing.

Technically, this isn’t the first comic I’ve owned – I have been given the odd promotional one over the years – but it’s the first one I went out and bought. It was called Halo: Bloodlines, and it was an interesting enough read – I’m a big fan of all things Halo, for reasons I might go into in a separate post – it was a little bit expensive mind. £14.99 for something that, whilst larger than your average comic, was certainly nowhere near a book, or even a film. Still, I’m a firm believer of supporting the things that I like, and this was a special occasion anyway. There was an ODST one that I think I’ll also pick up at some point.

It took me a while to actually decided which one to buy – like I said, I’m not much of a superhero fan – none of that material has really interested me that much outside of watching the cartoons growing up, and any movies that they’ve made recently. For me, if I was going to buy a comic, Transformers would probably be the best bet… problem is I didn’t know where to start. Unlike the self-contained comic (/visual novel) that I bought, regular comics are serialised and lead on from one another. The Transformers IP has also been through several publishing houses, and has several different spin-off universes that all have their own accompanying comics. I did consider asking the store people for advice, but then I saw the Halo one and I decided to just settle for that.

I might make a regular thing of this, although I need to keep an eye on the finances – despite moving out on my own, my financial situation is by no means stable. The way things sand, come 2012 all bets are off, so I’d rather not attribute my downfall to a new comic obsession. I know I suppose I could try and find them online to download but… don’t really see the point really. Same with books, actually – I’ve downloaded the odd book, but only ones that I’ve already purchased so that I can stick them on my phone or something.

Btw, if you want to recommend some lesser well known comic series, feel free – I’m open to checking other things out. Only Sci-fi though for the moment, if you please.

Comments
  1. Thomas Kelly says:

    Read deadpoole’s ‘wade wilson’s war’. It’s a stand alone tilte that will introduce you into one of the most interesting and unique characters created in any medium.

Leave a Reply

