Friends, countrymen… anyone who knows more about computers than I do, lend me your ears!

So, with the Christmas season coming up, and with me having to face the harsh reality that my computer is now getting on a bit, it’s time for me to build a new PC. Phase One of this master plan is to actually pick out the parts for the new rig, which I have just spent most of the afternoon doing. Slow news day, what can you do. Now, what I want from you guys is some help on a couple of points:

* Whether the parts I have chosen can be found elsewhere for less money (from reputable places that you personally trust though).

* Whether parts I have chosen can be swapped out for better parts (and by better, I mean comparatively on a performance – cost ratio).

* Whether it all sounds like it would fit together, at a glance.

And on a general note, feel free to remind me of anything I should be aware off whilst constructing the rig, so feel free to share any tips and anecdotes you may have. So, without further ado, here’s the first draft of Joe’s Rig 2.0:

CPU – Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz LGA1155 6MB – £169.99 from Dabs.com

Motherboard Asus P8P67 DELUXE REV 3.0 – £149.9 from Dabs.com

RAM – Patriot Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 – £48.99 from Dabs.com

Note: The above three items can be bought as a bundle from Dabs for £339.99, which works out at £30 cheaper or something.

Graphics Card Asus GeForce GTX 560Ti 830MHz 1GB PCI-Express HDMI – £167.98 from Dabs.com

CPU Cooler Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 – £14.98 from Dabs.com

Power Supply Unit – OCZ Technology ZS Series 650W 80+ Bronze Power Supply – £59.98 from Dabs.com

Optical Drive – Samsung 12x BD-ROM/DVDRW Lightscribe SATA – £43.99 from Dabs.com

Wireless CardEdimax 300Mbps Wireless 802.11b/g/n PCI Express Adapter – £16.36 from Dabs.com

Solid State Hard Drive Corsair Memory 120GB Force Series 3 SATA 6Gb/s 2.5″ Solid State Drive – £129.99 from Dabs.com

Note: I don’t really know much about the SSD’s, but it was highly recommended that I get one, so I’m getting a 120 GB one as my main hard drive. There is also this one as an alternative, it’s £30 cheaper but the same size, but as I said, I don’t know enough to know whether it’s worth investing more or not.

As an aside, I’m also keeping my 500Gb Mechanical drive from my old rig for games, etc…

Case Antec Six Hundred V2 Mid Tower Gaming Case — £64.99 from Dabs.com

Note: I always find cases the hardest bit, as I don’t really know what I should be looking for. So long as it’s an ATX form factor and has plenty of room for drives and expansion slots, then really you won’t know what it’s like until it’s physically in your hands. I tried to get one with built in fans, but to be honest this was a fairly arbitrary choice. I don’t want to spend much more than this though on a case, but if you have any recommendations that match the rest of the stuff, then by all means.

Grand Total: £838.26

So already this rig is costing a fair bit more than my last one, and I haven’t had to buy monitors or software this time. I’m probably going to have to buy Microsoft Office separately, because this current install was borrowed from someone who I’m no longer in contact with. But my last rig, even at the time, wasn’t bleeding edge tech. Getting a Core 2 Duo when the i-series had just come out, Geforce 9500 when Nvidia had already switched to their new numbering system… with any luck, this new rig will last me a long, long while though. Not sure when exactly it’s going to get built – was thinking of taking some time off next week or something, but I want it to be before the new year. Plus, it being Christmas time, I may be able to get help with some of the cost…

Comments
  1. Mr_Day says:

    It was the PSU that Debbie was querying, but since it is claiming to be good for multi graphics cards you should find it is stable under load – that is what Debbie seemed to have problems with, the rebooting when asked to do something.

    The CPU you have there is unlocked for overclocking, but unless you plan on doing any overclocking you should find the stock cooler is more than adequate – the i5 is a very good cpu, most magazines use it in their standard rigs.

    The alternative cheaper SSD you have there is much slower than the corsair one, so stick with that.

    One thing you should know about SSDs: to get full performance out of them you should follow a guide, I found this one helpful: http://www.zdnet.com/blog/bott/windows-7-and-ssds-setup-secrets-and-tune-up-tweaks/2910 (and then part three once Windows is installed). The SSD setup utility the guide linked to will sort out the irritaing parts like virtual memory for you, but I noticed it turned system restore off, might want to turn that back on – or if you didn’t use the utility just follow part three of the guide

    You shouldn’t have to worry so much about updating the firmware, but setting the sata to AHCI mode in the bios before installing Windows is quite important. The Mobo manual should point you in the right direction.

  2. […] right folks, it begins now. Well, not right now, I need to start backing up this computer, get my work space set up… […]

Leave a Reply

