Dutch Courage

Posted: March 18, 2012 in Gaming, Industry, Writing/Journalism
Tags: , , , ,

So, more ‘firsts’ have happened to me this past week – first time I’d fired an authentic WW2 sniper rifle (or any gun, for that matter), first time I’d been to Amsterdam, first time I’ve left it more than two weeks in-between posting… also, during the writing of this post, first time my new computer Blue Screen of Death’d on me, which is worrying but a problem for another time. It’s been a good week, overall – knackering as hell, but good.

It also bodes well for the fortunes of the site (I hope) –  the trip to Amsterdam were in the company of magazines and websites that I like to think off as ‘higher’ up the proverbial ladder. It’s not that healthy to think of one’s site in terms like that, but there are certain realities that many of my colleagues can understand – some sites, either by connections or raw “we’ve got more traffic than you”, get priority treatment over others. With everyone and their mum opening a videogames website, it’s expected, so it’s alright. Anyway, this marks the first time though we’ve been invited to a press preview overseas for a single game. It felt good, and it was a good trip – can’t really talk about what I saw or anything like that until Friday though, so perhaps I’ll do another blog post at the end of the week.

Typical me though – I managed to spend a whole three days in the centre of Amsterdam and not see anything that you’re supposed to see.

The trip to the place where guns are fired equally as interesting, although  we’re not actually allowed to talk about where we went for reasons of privacy and security, it’s basically some guys house but it’s a place where the Army and the Police force train as well, with only a few public days. Guess they don’t want the location going viral. Also can’t talk about what I saw there until Thursday, but it was some good stuff, brought back some memories. Anyway, they each gave us our own paper head to fire at, and we fired three rounds with two guns – a Springfield and a Mauser, and I managed to get a hit with all six (although the accuracy wasn’t amazing, but all technically ‘kill shots’, the dude told me). It was an odd experience – the guns were loud, even with noise cancelling headphones on, and evening standing in the room can be a bit jarring. Probably not something I’d want to do as a hobby, but it’s something I can say I’ve done.

On a completely unrelated note, I’m near the end of Mass Effect 3 (you can read my review here, will post more once I’m done), and I picked up Darksiders on the 360. Heard some good things about it, especially the ending so I want to experience it for myself. Also, finances are going to be a bit tight this month, so I’m going to have to batten down the hatches a bit I think… unless anyone fancies giving me some moneyz?

No?

Comments
  1. […] of happening here but the key difference I think is that I had a purpose. You may remember I was in Amsterdam a couple of weeks ago seeing the sequel, and in preparation for that I actually read up on the […]

Leave a Reply

